“Assign Policy” option missing for Outlook users.

Posted on Updated on

I have always wondered why I was the only one in my whole organization that has the option ‘Assign Policy’ in Outlook.  I am the Exchange Engineer and administrator, but I don’t remember giving myself exclusive permissions.  Searching online also did not give me what I was looking for.

Assign_Policy

If you are like me, who searched online and did not find any answers.  Here is how I fixed this issue for regular users.

I am using Exchange 2013, to allow your users to assign their own policies, follow the steps below

  1. Login to Exchange Admin Center (EAC)
  2. Go to Permissions > User Roles and modify your default Role Assignment Policy, or whichever policy is assigned to your users.
  3. Check the box for ‘MyRetentionPolicies’ and that should give users permissions they are missing.

MyRetentionPolicy

2 thoughts on ““Assign Policy” option missing for Outlook users.

    Paul said:
    August 28, 2018 at 4:46 am

    Finally!!! A useful article that describes and resolves my issue!!! 🙂

    Thanks mate.

    Ray said:
    June 4, 2020 at 6:42 am

    Thanks a lot. You can’t imagine how long I googled to finally found how to use in-situ archive within Outlook. Assigning this role was exactly the solution.

Leave a comment